CCC&TI Inducts 49 Students into National Honor Society

HUDSON, NC (April 19, 2017)…In a recent ceremony, 49 Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute students were inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society for the Two Year College.

Phi Theta Kappa was founded in 1918 by presidents of two-year colleges in Missouri. The founders were seeking to recognize scholastic achievement by their students, and to establish a common purpose and standard for honors organizations on their different campuses. The founders chose to model their new Society after the prestigious senior honor society, Phi Beta Kappa. The name “Phi Theta Kappa” was taken from the initial letters of the three Greek words meaning “wisdom,” “aspiration” and “purity.”

CCC&TI’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) called the Alpha Lambda Pi Chapter, works to promote the intellectual atmosphere of CCC&TI. Students can become eligible to join this exclusive honor society if they achieve and maintain at least a 3.5 grade-point-average in their college level courses.

Keynote speaker for this year’s ceremony was President of CCC&TI, Dr. Mark Poarch. Poarch congratulated students on earning the honor of membership in Phi Theta Kappa and spoke to students about continuing their pursuit of excellence as both students and citizens. “Starting tonight with this honor is the expectation that you will become the leaders of tomorrow. You are laying the foundation to grow as scholars and leaders,” said Poarch. Poarch encouraged students to have an expectation of excellence, have a passion for all that they do and maintain high values and principles. “Continue to do the little things that make you stand out, make good choices and be courageous and you will stay on a successful path, a path of excellence,” said Poarch. “I wish you nothing but much success in the future.”

Following his address, Chapter Advisor Melissa McCarraher presented Poarch with an honorary membership in CCC&TI’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. “To pay tribute to Dr. Mark Poarch in his inaugural year as president and in honor or the standards he upholds and represents, he is presented with honorary membership,” said McCarraher.

During the ceremony, officers for PTK were also recognized. This year’s officers are Caldwell Campus President Toby Haas, Watauga Campus President Elissa Hengst, Vice President Ashley Haas and Secretary/Treasurer Melissa Bolen.

Advisor Jennifer Fisher offered closing remarks for the ceremony. “I welcome you to Phi Theta Kappa and to the lively fellowship of scholars that it affords,” she said. “I salute you for your accomplishments. I charge you to explore always for truth, to dedicate yourselves to the cultivation of a well-reasoned life, a prelude to service and honor.”

Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Lambda Pi Chapter
2017 Inductees

Kaylee Anthony
Samantha Barger
Christopher Beach
Melissa Bolen
Connie Bolick
Thomas Braswell
Daniel Chapman
Christine Dagher*
Elba Euceda
Megan Farmer
Steven Fekete
Lillie Finch*
Katherine Fitzpatrick*
Kristin Flahart
Megan Gentry
Sarah Griffin*
Ashley Haas
Toby Haas
Andrew Hatfield
Elissa Hengst*
Pamela Herman
Jeannine Herrera
Katilin Hoyle
Christopher Lewallen
Lillian Livermore*
Ryan Mesa*
Dustin Mosley
Emily Murphy
Braxton Nelson
Sabrina Oliver*
Julie Overby
Maeghan Overstreet*
Shannon Pitts
Mary Ramsey
Morgan Seagle
Chloe Shaut*
Cynthia Smith
Jacob Smith
Sharon Taylor*
Jordan Thomason*
Patty Vines
Vanessa Waddell
Jeannie Webb
Natasha Woodring*
Bren Woods
Nicole Youman

New Members by College Transfer
Koami Ayena
Brent Boswell
Melissa Hicks

* Denotes Watauga Campus Students

Pictured are the 2017 inductees into the Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society, Alpha Lambda Pi Chapter at Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute. Sitting from left to right are Cynthia Smith, Nicole Youman, Toby Haas, Dustin Mosley, Lillie Finch*, Ashley Haas, Koami Ayena, and Elba Euceda. Standing from left to right are Daniel Chapman, Mary Ramsey, Patty Vines, Samantha Barger, Kristin Flahart, Melissa Bolen, Katilin Hoyle, Megan Gentry, Morgan Seagle, Andrew Hatfield and Braxton Nelson.

For more information on Phi Theta Kappa at CCC&TI, contact Melissa McCarraher or Jennifer Fisher on the Caldwell Campus at 828-726-2200 or Dale Joyner, Laura Wollpert or Heather Wright on the Watauga Campus at 828-297-3811.